hotnessMONSTER

Health Monster: Peanut Butter-Banana Smoothie

In Health MONSTER on May 22, 2012 at 8:58 am

For the past month or so I’ve switched to a healthier, more nutrient dense, low caloric diet, & I’m loving it! I’m eating a lot more produce, like broccoli , carrots, leafy greens, & fruits. I’m basically trying to fill up on more food with fewer calories but more nutrition value. If that makes any sense.

Since I characterized my blog as a lifestyle blog why don’t I share everything food related here. As a nutritionist I should’ve done so a LONG time ago. but better late than never, right?

 

now for the Peanut butter Banana smoothie:

 

I found this recipe in a recent issue of Self magazine. It was part of an article talking about the importance of a healthy breakfast and how many people choose a non-healthy, sugary, fast breakfast, which really doesn’t do any good for your body, because of the time constraint. So the lovely people at Self magazine included a number of recipes that are nutrient dense & easy to whip up.

 

I’ve tried the Peanut Butter-Banana smoothie and since then its my go to breakfast meal for days when I need to be at the office ASAP.

 

the recipe goes like this:

In a blender; process 1 sliced banana, 1/4 cup quick-cooking oats, 1/4 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt ( just plain low-fat yogurt from the grocery store), 1/2 cup 1 percent milk (I use skimmed milk) , 1/2 cup crushed ice, 1 tablespoon natural peanut butter, 1 teaspoon maple syrup (I switched it to Agave syrup) , & a pinch of nutmeg until smooth.

 

the result is  roughly 386 calories, 11  g fat ( 2 g are saturated), 59 g carbs, 6 g fiber, 17 g protein.

I realized after a while of drinking this that I haven’t been drinking all of it since my to-go smoothie jug can take only 2/3rds of this smoothie in it. but you know what? I don’t feel hungry at all.
don't add the peanuts on top of the smoothie unless you want the added calories.
